WWE Unveils United Kingdom Championship Coming to WWE Network in January


Well, this was unexpected. The latest WWE Network exclusive tournament has been announced and the announcement is loaded with breaking news.

At a press conference in London, WWE Executive Vice President of Talent, Live Events & Creative Triple H announced a 16-man, two-day tournament in Blackpool, England to crown the first WWE United Kingdom Champion. The tournament will air live and exclusive on the WWE Network on January 14th and 15th at 8PM in the UK (3 PM ET in the US).

The second big announcement at the press conference involves the play-by-play team for the Network special. After leaving his on-screen position as Ring of Honor Matchmaker earlier this month, Former ROH World Champion Nigel McGuinness will be joining Michael Cole on commentary as co-hosts of the show.

There had been speculation WWE was looking to sign a plethora of British, Scottish, and Irish wrestlers in recent weeks and the field for the United Kingdom Championship tournament bears out this speculation. The field of contenders includes 18 names from the UK independent scene (2 alternates for injuries):

  1. Trent Seven- Progress Tag Team Champion with Pete Dunne
  2. Pete Dunne- Progress Champion
  3. Tyler Bate – Progress Tag Team Champion with Trent Seven
  4. Wolfgang – ICW Champion
  5. Tyson T-Bone – 2-time PCW Champion
  6. Tucker – 2-time PWU Champion
  7. Jordan Devlin
  8. Roy Johnson
  9. Joseph Conners – Former What Culture Pro Wrestling Champion
  10. HC Dyer
  11. Jack Starz
  12. Sam Gradwell
  13. James Drake – Former Future Shock Wrestling Adrenaline and Grand Pro Wrestling Champion
  14. Dan Moloney
  15. Chris Tyler
  16. Saxon Huxley
  17. Ringo Ryan
  18. Tiger Ali


Trackbacks for this post

  1. The Morning Roundup 1/5/17 | Chad Dukes Wrestling Show
%d bloggers like this: